Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes ofwebsite accessibility
MENU

Jan. 27 data: As Utah's COVID-19 numbers improve, 7 more killed by virus

vaccine plan moving forward covid 012621 kutv (3).png
COVID-19 in Utah (Photo: KUTV){ }

As Utah continues its efforts to vaccinate, and as key data shows a decline in the spread of COVID-19, Utah counted seven more deaths Wednesday as a results of the virus.

In something of a change, none of those killed were from Salt Lake County, Utah's most populated area where the virus has had the most cases and the most fatalities. Grand, Millard, Tooele, Utah and Washington counties all suffered deaths.

The state does not release the identities of those killed but it does release data about them. One of the deaths was attributed to a person over 85 and the rest were between 45 and 84. The state reported 12,811 new vaccinations since Tuesday. Positive tests returned at 18.44% as a rolling average over the last seven days. Hospitalizations remains a key measuring stick for the state and currently there are 452 patients with COVID-19, according to Utah Department of Health.

The state's daily statistic from the UDOH are located near the end of the story.

For the first time in months, Utah is beginning to see COVID-19 case counts trend downward. It’s a good sign experts say they didn’t necessarily anticipate.

Erin Clouse, a strategic engagement manager for the University of Utah Health, didn’t expect the case numbers, hospitalizations and positivity rates to decline so close to the holidays.

Clouse said she’s not certain why the state is seeing a downward trend, but she believes increased testing has helped when it comes to the positivity rates

While the new data is promising, Utah still has a ways to go in the fight against COVID-19. Because of the surge, Intermountain Riverton Hospital transformed its pediatric unit to care for adults with COVID-19.

Efforts to vaccinate Utahns resulted in CVS and Walgreens being allocated too much vaccine and the state had to ask for nearly 30,000 doses back.

Beginning in March, the state will use pharmacies at Walmart and Smith’s to administer the vaccine to the general population.The federal government only allows states to pick two pharmacy companies from a pre-approved list to help administer doses.

Rich Lakin, the state’s immunization director, says each of the more than 100 locations across Utah will get the vaccine as long as the state gets enough.

Nationally, President Joe Biden is calling up top U.S. scientists to host press briefings three times a week to update the public about the battle against the virus. AP reports the initial briefing delivered a sharp contrast from the Trump administration's versions, when public health officials were repeatedly undermined by a president who shared his unproven ideas without hesitation.

“We’re bringing back the pros to talk about COVID in an unvarnished way,” Biden said Tuesday. “Any questions you have, that’s how we’ll handle them because we’re letting science speak again.”

White House response coordinator Jeff Zients said Congress needs to pass Biden's relief bill to keep the momentum in the fight. Top aide, Andy Slavitt, said 500 million shots are needed to vaccinate all Americans over 16.

New CDC head Rochelle Walensky said her agency's forecast shows the U.S. will count beteween 479,000 and 514,000 deaths by Feb. 20. The latest data shows 436,666 U.S. deaths at press time and 2,175,159 world wide deaths. So far 101,108,078 million cases have been recorded world wide at time of publication.

UTAH DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH REPORTED THE FOLLOWING WEDNESDAY

Positives:

  • We will report 340,684 positive cases today. This is an increase of 2,009 new cases since yesterday.

Vaccines:

Please Note: By clicking on the "Vaccines" tab on the case counts web page, you can see a breakdown of people immunized with one dose, people immunized with two doses, and information on patient residence by health district.

  • We will report 250,448 total vaccines administered which is 12,811 more than yesterday.

Lab Tests:

  • We will report 1,989,106 people tested. This is an increase of 10,156 people tested since yesterday.

Trends:

  • The rolling 7-day average for positive tests is 1,758 per day. The rolling 7-day average for percent of positive laboratory tests is 18.44%.

Hospitalizations:

  • There are 452 people currently hospitalized with COVID-19. Total hospitalizations from the beginning of the outbreak are 13,217.

Deaths:

We will report 1,620 total deaths, this is an increase of 7 newly reported deaths.

  • Male, between 65-84, Millard County resident, hospitalized at time of death
  • Male, between 65-84, Washington County resident, hospitalized at time of death
  • Male, between 45-64, Utah County resident, hospitalized at time of death
  • Male, older than 85, Tooele County resident, hospitalized at time of death
  • Male, between 65-84, Washington County resident, long-term care facility resident
  • Female, between 45-64, Utah County resident, hospitalized at time of death
  • Male, older than 85, Grand County resident, hospitalized at time of death

RELATED STORIES:

UTAH CUMULATIVE COVID-19 CASES BY WEEK — WEEKLY INCREASE

  • Sun., March 15: 28 — 28
  • Sun., March 22: 181 — +153
  • Sun., March 29: 719 — +538
  • Sun., April 5: 1,605 — +886
  • Sun., April 12: 2,303 — +698
  • Sun., April 19: 3,069 — +766
  • Sun., April 26: 3,948 — +879
  • Sun., May 3: 5,175 — +1,227
  • Sun., May 10: 6,251 — +1,076
  • Sun., May 17: 7,238 — +987
  • Sun., May 24: 8,392 — +1,154
  • Sun., May 31: 9,797 — +1,405
  • Sun., June 7: 12,066 — +2, 269
  • Sun., June 14: 14,313 — +2,247
  • Sun., June 21: 17,462 — +3,149
  • Sun., June 28: 21,100 — +3,638
  • Sun., July 5: 24,952 — +3,852
  • Sun., July 12: 29,484 — +4,532
  • Sun., July 19: 34,117 — + 4,633
  • Sun., July 26: 37,973 — + 3,856
  • Sun., Aug. 2: 41, 175 — + 3,202
  • Sun., Aug. 9: 44,127 — + 2,952
  • Sun., Aug. 16: 46,652 — + 2,528
  • Sun., Aug. 23: 49,115 — + 2,463
  • Sun., Aug. 30: 51,854 — + 2,739
  • Sun., Sept. 6: 54,660 — +2,806
  • Sun., Sept. 13: 57,875 — +3,215
  • Sun., Sept. 20: 63,772 — +5,897
  • Sun., Sept. 27: 70,615 — +6,843
  • Sun., Oct. 4: 77,618 — +7,003
  • Sun., Oct. 11: 85,844 — +8,266
  • Sun., Oct. 18: 94,394 — +8,550
  • Sun. Oct 25: 104,882 — + 10,488
  • Sun. Nov. 1: 116,510 — +11,628
  • Sun., Nov. 8: 132,621 — +16,111
  • Sun., Nov. 15: 153,808 — +21,187
  • Sun., Nov. 22: 177,176 — +23,368
  • Sun., Nov. 29: 193,809 — +16,633
  • Sun., Dec. 6: 215,407 — +21,598
  • Sun., Dec. 13: 233,904 — +18,497
  • Sun., Dec. 20: 250,964 — +17,060
  • Sun., Dec. 27: 264,874 — +13,910
  • Sun., Jan. 3: 283,473 — + 18,599
  • Sun., Jan. 10: 305,999 — + 22,526
  • Sun., Jan. 17: 323,837 — + 17,838
  • Sun., Jan. 24: 336,405 — + 12,568

For more from Utah's coronavirus website, click here.

For more from CDC's COVID-19 website, click here.

For COVID-19 data gathered from around the world, click here.

For more coronavirus-related stories, click here.